25 Things About Yourself

3 02 2009

For the past few days on Facebook, I have been receiving “chain letters” from my friends. The introduction says:

Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.

(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

I usually over look these e-mails but it seemed as though all of my Semester At Sea friends were participating, and I didn’t want to be the odd man out. I am very happy I did take time to fill out 25 things about myself as it reminded me who I am. As a recent college graduate, I felt as though I started to loose my identity. I no longer know what I am supposed to do (previously I always knew I would be attending school the next year), I no longer know where I should be living, I basically started questioning every part of my life. Though the 25 things I wrote about myself do not answer my question about my future, it reminded me of key point of what makes me who I am. Here is what I came up with…

1. I am currently unemployed, and hating it! Not because I need the $$ but because the days are so damn boring!

2. I keep myself busy watching the soap channel to waste my day away while looking for jobs. 9-11 beverly hills 90210, 11-1 one tree hill 1-3 the OC…and I love them all

3. I secretly think that the characters on all of the above shows (and many more..the hills, lipstick jungle, 90210, privileged….)are my friend, and I love to gossip about them.

4. Actually, I secretly like to gossip about everything…or should I say listen to gossip. Its not nice to spread it!

5. I have lived in three different countries ( and I think that is enough for me)

6. I have traveled to over 22 countries, and I want that list to continue to grow. I was once told to never let your age be a larger number than the number of countries you have traveled to. LIVE BY IT!

7. I will one day return to the MV as a life long learner. I refuse to not travel the world again, even if it is to countries I have already been to.

8. I take sleeping pills which make me PASS OUT. If you try and talk to me after I take them, it is not unusual for me to fall asleep in the middle of a sentence or even worse…a word!

9. I like music, but I don’t know anything about it! Singers, bands, songs…don’t even bother asking me a question about it, I defiantly will not know the answer. 

10. That scar on my chest…it’s not from surgery but rather in gym class in middle school. we were practicing fencing and I refused wear that ugly white outfit because it did not match my hair-band….unfortunately my partner got me right in between the boobs. 

11. I love girly things such as manicures, pedicures, massages, and shopping. I also don’t mind when males like these things either. In fact, I like it because it gives me more friends to do the things I love with.

12. I believe that things happen for a reason. You make choices in life, but ultimately things happen for a reason.

13. I love the warm weather, however every city I have lived in has cold weather. Tans make me feel beautiful and sexy, and the sun makes me happy!

14. My family is the most important thing to me. I tell them everything, and one day wouldn’t hate living near them.

15. I can be successful in life, and I will. I will find a job that allows me to rise like a star! But eventually I want to be a mom and work hard at building a great family like my parents did for me.

16. I enjoy food, all kinds of it. My favorite foods as a kid were not spaghetti and meatballs like most kids but rather salami, pickles, and lobster. 

17. I have lots of best friends and favorite things. There are too many good things in this world to limit yourself.

18. I hate making decisions unless something really matters to me. Otherwise why piss other people off?? Yes I am a people pleaser, can you imagine that?

19. I have emotions, and lots of them. Crying is a pass time for me.

20. I love boys and fall hard for them. Am I at the age where I should say men??? 

21. I have always hated playing “games” when it comes to guys. You either like me or you don’t and vis versa. I would rather spend time doing fun things with the person rather than pretending I don’t like them.

22. I have always said that I would rather a few close friends rather than a lot of friends. That is true, but I really would like a few close friends with a lot of other friends as well. I usually hate being alone and would like to spend most hours of my day with people I like. 

23. I used to think writing about myself was hard, but this was pretty easy. I guess I have become a stronger person who is not ashamed of who I am.

24. I hate surprises and am terrible at giving them. I like to know what is going on!

25. I love adventures, learning, and trying new things. Thank you SAS!

Take a few minutes and try it yourself. I am sure it will remind you of many things you have forgotten about yourself, or have pushed to the back as life is very busy. The most important thing in life is yourself, so I advice you to do this and make yourself happy by remembering who you are!

Actions

Information

One response

8 02 2009
Rachel

Hi Jessica,

I stumbled upon your blog while reading the Brazen Careerist blog, and I really like your style! You’re doing the right thing by networking online and and cultivating a presence, something that I’m not doing enough of! Your letter to your careers center is great, it’s nice to see people being pro-active about improving their university services. Good luck with the job-hunting, I’m sure you’ll be more than fine!

Best regards,
Rachel

Leave a Reply

